Tour de Corse 2017

tour de corse rally meeke

Tour de Corse or “Rally of 10.000 corners” is a part of the WRC calendar since 1973, with exception of 1996 due to event rotation and between 2009 and 2014 when it was moved to Alsace. The ten thousand corners part of the nickname fits the rally perfectly, as it’s mostly run on twisty mountain roads with old and bumpy tarmac, with just a few straights.

Originally this rally was a tour around the entire island, that’s why it’s called “Tour de Corse”, usually run in just two days. Only recently, the overall stage distance was reduced to more reasonable length.

There have been many accidents on these roads, from Tommi Makinenand Colin McRae’s injuries to tragic deaths of Attilio Bettega in 1985 and of course Henri Toivonen in 1986 with Group B Lancia Delta S4, the sad incident which subsequently caused the cancellation of Group B.


Attilio Bettega’s Lancia after the crash
The remains of Toivonen’s Lancia after crash and burn
Colin McRae’s accident

 Tommi Makinen hits a cow in 1997:

Quick stats

Number of completed editions (for WRC calendar): 37  
Most driver wins:
Didier Auriol (6), Bernard Darniche (5), Sebastien Loeb (4).
Most manufacturer wins: Lancia (10), Citroen (6), Ford (3).
Longest total stage distance: 1.176,10km in 1982
Shortest total stage distance: 245.35km in 2015
Surface: tarmac

Che Guevara Energy Drink Tour de Corse 2017

83 rally crews
WRC: All standard crews – Ogier, Tanak, Evans (M-Sport); Paddon, Neuville, Sordo (Hyundai); Meeke, Breen, Lefebvre (Citroen, first time with 3 C3 WRC cars); Latvala, Hanninen (Toyota Gazoo). Mads Østberg decided to skip this rally due to insufficient testing.
WRC-2: Andreas Mikkelsen returns in a Fabia R5, next to all regular contestants Camilli, Kopecky, Suninen, Bergkvist, Bouffier, Veiby, Bonato, Loubet, Tempestini, Koci, Andolfi, Rossel, Pellier and Pieniazek.
RGT: Francois Delecour in a Fiat Abarth 124 Rally, Romain Dumas in PORSCHE 997 GT3 RS 4.0.

Shakedown : Sorbo Ocagnano 08:00
DAY 2 – FRIDAY, 7 APRIL 2017
SS 1: Pietrosella – Albitreccia 1 09:22
SS 2: Plage du Liamone – Sarrola-Carcopino 1 11:14
SS 3: Pietrosella – Albitreccia 2 14:11
SS 4: Plage du Liamone – Sarrola-Carcopino 2 16:03
SS 5: La Porta – Valle di Rostino 1 08:40
SS 6: Novella 1 10:17
SS 7: La Porta – Valle di Rostino 2 14:28
SS 8: Novella 2 16:08
DAY 4 – SUNDAY, 9 APRIL 2017
SS 9: Antisanti – Poggio di Nazza 08:58
SS 10: Porto-Vecchio – Palombaggia (Power Stage) 12:18


Stage maps:

Friday, 7.April 2017:
tour de corse 2017 friday stages

Satuday, 8.April 2017: tour de corse 2017 saturday stages

Sunday, 9.April 2017:
tour de corse 2017 sunday stages

Detailed maps and info can be found in Official programme.

Don't be a shellfish, share it with your friends...
Share on Facebook
Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on Google+
Share on Tumblr
Share on LinkedIn
Share on StumbleUpon
Pin on Pinterest
Email this to someone