Rally Group R classes

group r cover

Group R regulations were created in 2012 to replace Group A and Group N and from 2013, no new cars can be homologated as Group A or N car, they are classified by R regulations instead. Group consists of six classes, from R1 to R5, with RGT regulations for GT cars like Porsche 911 GT3 etc.

Most used cars in R2 class are Ford Fiesta R2, Opel Adam R2, Peugeot 208 R2, Škoda Fabia R2 and Citroen C2R2 (Max), while in R3 there are Citroen DS3 R3T and Renault Clio R3(T).
Group R4 is for Group N classics like Subaru Impreza and Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution, and the last, R5 is mostly represented by Škoda Fabia R5, Ford Fiesta R5, Citroen DS3 R5, Peugeot 208 T16 R5 and newly added Hyundai i20 R5, with a few others announced soon (VW Polo R5, Opel Corsa R5..).

Learn more about the limits of each class in the graphic below:
rally cars group r classes

Sharing is allowed and encouraged, usage on your website allowed with attribution:

Article Categories:

Comments are closed.